Home page ­ > Research topics > Virgo

The Virgo experiment aims at the detection of the gravitational waves emitted from astrophysical sources (neutron stars, black holes, supernovae, etc...). Its aim is to contribute to the gravitational wave astronomy which will offer to astrophysics and cosmology a new window on the Universe.

The experimental detector is an interféromètre 3 km long, built by an european collaboration, near Cascina in Italy, not far from Pisa.
Virgo is a european scientific collaboration in relationship with other gravitational waves observatories, like LIGO in USA, GEO in Germany, or KAGRA in Japan.

JPEG - 80.4 kb
Vue aérienne de l’interféromètre Virgo
GIF - 3.7 kb
Localisation de Virgo

From May 2007 to October 2011, Virgo has done four scientific data taking, among which three were done in coincidence with the american LIGO experiment. The common LIGO-Virgo data analysis results have not shown any gravitational wave detection.

A more sentitive detector, Advanced Virgo, is currently built and should do its first scientific run during the year 2017, with a sensitivity sufficient to allow the international network of detectors Advanced Virgo and Advanced LIGO to observe several gravitational wave astrophysical sources per year and to continue the pioneering work of gravitational wave astronomy.

For more information, you can visit the web page of the Virgo experiment, ask to come on the experiment’s site or write to us.




update on Monday 16 January 2017

Printable version print version


LAPP UMR5814, 9 Chemin de Bellevue - BP 110 - Annecy-le-Vieux, 74941 ANNECY CEDEX - FRANCE
Tél : (33) (0) 4 50 09 16 00 - Fax : (33) (0) 4 50 27 94 95 - GPS : N 45° 55' 14.002'' / E 6° 9' 33.998''
TVA : FR40180089013 - SIRET : 18008901303605

L’expérience Virgo a pour objectif la détection des ondes gravitationnelles émises par des sources astrophysiques (étoiles à neutrons, trous noirs, supernovae, etc...). Son but est de participer à l’astronomie gravitationnelle qui offre à l’astrophysique et à la cosmologie une nouvelle façon d’observer l’Univers.

Le détecteur est un interféromètre de trois kilomètres de long, construit par une collaboration européenne à Cascina en Italie, près de Pise.
Virgo est une collaboration scientifique européenne qui travaille en relation avec d’autres observatoires d’onde gravitationnelle LIGO aux USA, GEO en Allemagne, ou KAGRA au Japon.

JPEG - 80.4 ko
Vue aérienne de l’interféromètre Virgo
GIF - 3.7 ko
Localisation de Virgo

Entre mai 2007 et octobre 2011, Virgo a effectué quatre prises de données scientifiques, dont trois en coïncidence avec l’expérience américaine LIGO. Les résultats des analyses de données n’ont pas apporté de détection d’ondes gravitationnelle.

Un détecteur plus performant, Advanced Virgo, est en cours de construction et devrait réaliser sa première prise de données scientifique au cours de l’année 2017, avec une sensibilité suffisante pour permettre au réseau de détecteurs Advanced Virgo et Advanced LIGO de détecter plusieurs sources d’onde gravitationnelle par an et de poursuivre le travail pionnier de l’astronomie gravitationnelle.

Pour plus d’information, vous pouvez visiter la page web de l’expérience Virgo, demander à venir sur le site de l’expérience ou nous écrire.




mis à jour le lundi 16 janvier 2017

Version imprimable version imprimable


LAPP UMR5814, 9 Chemin de Bellevue - BP 110 - Annecy-le-Vieux, 74941 ANNECY CEDEX - FRANCE
Tél : (33) (0) 4 50 09 16 00 - Fax : (33) (0) 4 50 27 94 95 - GPS : N 45° 55' 14.002'' / E 6° 9' 33.998''
TVA : FR40180089013 - SIRET : 18008901303605